The security of your data is our highest priority. While no system can be guaranteed to be 100% secure, we do everything we can to ensure that only you can access your data.
At Collected, we employ industry- standard security practices. This is why we have an A rating from Qualys Labs independent security tests. We continuously monitor and update our systems to keep them inoculated from new and emerging threats. Some of the methods we employ to keep your data secure include:
Your files are stored on our servers only briefly for processing and delivery to you. They are deleted very shortly after this is complete. File metadata, extracted content, snippets of text, and small thumbnails of files and slides are stored in our content-suggestion engine, which is isolated from all servers but our own, in order to provide our service. These data are not accessible to others.
We use the industry-standard OAuth protocol to grant access to your linked accounts without exposing your credentials to our servers. We don't store your passwords. You can easily manage Collected's access to these accounts through your Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, and OneDrive account settings. When you delete a linked account from Collected, all data is removed from our servers. Files and data in the linked account are not affected.
One of the best things you can do to protect your account is to use a strong, unique password. We require a minimum of 8 characters. In addition, make sure to sign out of Collected on shared computers.
Our service delivers content suggestions using contextual information, such as the current paragraph you’re working on as well as other information from your active document. For your privacy, we do not store this contextual information on our servers. Collected logs when suggestions are sent to measure usage levels, but no data concerning the actual suggestions are stored.